Skip to content

2017 MAOTY goes to Queensland


QBE Banner_Horizontal

Michael Morgan of Queensland is the 2017 Motorcycle Apprentice of the Year.
His win was announced at the Ulysses Club AGM Event held in Riverlands S.A.

MAOTY National Adjudicator – Graham Moore # 62762 had the great pleasure of announcing the young Queenslander as the National winner of our Ulysses Club Motorcycle Apprentice of the Year.

Michael, aged 24, was one of four Zone Winners from around Australia, the national winner was ultimately selected from those four.
Michael, who has just completed the final year of his apprenticeship, was absolutely thrilled to be declared the winner.

At the presentation of his award, during the Civic Reception at Renmark, Michael thanked the Ulysses Club and Suzuki Australia for his award, a Suzuki Motorcycle, and Certificate to go with his Zone Award… a $1000 Gift Voucher from Supercheap Auto, which was also won by all the finalists.

Michael concluded his thank you speech with the desire to enjoy the next 16 years so that he can then join the Ulysses Club. That received a very enthusiastic response from the hundreds of Ulysseans gathered for the announcement of one of the Club’s most popular initiatives!

Michael Morgan, 2017  Ulysses Club Motorcycle Apprentice of the Year, is seen flanked by MAOTY Adjudicator Graham Moore, along with National President Jen Woods and National Vice President Peter Baulch.

An important aspect of the AGM is of course the election of National Committee officers and the key word this year was `stability’.
There were no challenging nominations and the retiring National Committee members were elected unopposed.
President Jen Woods #21395
Vice President Peter Baulch #27672
Secretary Henry Rokx #28636
Treasurer John Osborne #41785
Committee Member David Wright #51871
Committee Member Blue Knowles #33140
Committee Member Allan Pratt #9186

MAOTY winner Michael Morgan was not the only winner of course, as there were also awards to some of the over 1900 registered Ulysses Club members who made the various journeys that took them to Riverlands in South Australia.
Longest Distance Rider – Garry and Paula Cripps from Geraldton, WA. This was a dual win as the husband and wife rode across on a motorcycle and a trike.
Longest Distance Pillion – Gae Armstrong, Bouvard W.A.
Longest Distance on a 250cc – Shaen Thelander from Russell Lea in Sydney
Oldest Rider – Ivan Collins, born 1927 – 90 years young
Oldest Rider and Motorcycle Combination – Bruce Reid. BSA 1948 – 70 Years old, and Bruce was born in 1927 and is 90 years young.
Presidents award – Triumph Legend with VIC plate FT092 (not yet claimed and Nat Com are seeking the owner)

Special mention to “Chloe”, the Maltese poodle as the littlest pillion passenger.It was Chloe’s 8th AGM Event, while raising funds for Dementia Research. Chloe came with her owner, Ken Eaton from Joondalup Branch, W.A.
This was of course the last time the AGM Event title would be used, as it is now to be known as the Ulysses Club National Rally.
A new name, but it still includes our AGM and will still be the same week of fun for everyone that it has always been.

QBE Banner_Horizontal

Have something to share?

Are you a Ulysses Club Member and have a story, letter, review, news or idea to share?
Submit here

Join the community

We have a thriving Facebook Page.
Like us and join the conversation.

Posted in

Leave a Comment

eight + two =